Activities

Lourdes is the largest Marian pilgrimage destination in the world. Approximately 5,000,000 pilgrims visit Lourdes each year to visit the Sanctuaries Notre-Dame de Lourdes, which contains the Grotto and churches.

Besides the Roman Catholic pilgrimage, Lourdes is famous for its historical architecture. Lourdes has been inhabited for over 2000 years and holds historical artifacts, monuments and buildings. Atop a rocky embarkment in the center of Lourdes, lies the Château Fort de Lourdes, a fortified castle that is 1000 years old.
 
Lourdes offers direct access to stunning Pyrenees nature like Pont d’Espagne at the heart of the Pyrenees National Park, where you can see exceptional wildlife and plants, Pic du Midi de Bigorre (alt. 2877m) with panoramic terraces, or the Pic du Jer for a dramatic overview of Lourdes and scenic hiking. There are many outdoor activities to enjoy in and near Lourdes, or check out Halles of Lourdes, the covered market, or simply relax and enjoy the fine Occitanie cuisine.
 

Sanctuary of Notre Dame de Lourdes

Lourdes is most known for being one of the main Catholic pilgrimage sites worldwide since having been declared a holy city by the Catholic church. The story goes that in 1858 the young shepherdess Bernadette Soubirous testified to the appearance of Virgin Mary in the cave next to Massabielle. Declared  “Marian City” by the Catholic church, Lourdes now receives millions of pilgrims every year from all over the world.

Castle Fort of Lourdes

The thousand-year-old fortress of Lourdes, which has never been conquered, is a listed historical monument. This site offers exceptional views of the city, the Sanctuaries and the Pyrenees. Inside it now hosts a botanical garden at the foot of the 14th-century keep, and the Pyrenean Museum.

Pic du Jer Funicular

The best panoramic view of the Pyrenees, from Lourdes. The Pic du Jer that overlooks the town can be recognised by its big cross, which lights up at night. It is accessible by taking a century-old funicular railway, which will take you up toward the summit at an altitude of 900 meters in just a few minutes, on a very scenic journey.

Les Halles 

Les Halles forms the culinary heart of Lourdes, where people shop for fresh fruit and vegetables as well as specialty ingredients or weekend treats. Expect locally produced cheeses, charcuterie and many more. Make sure to try the traditional local pastry gâteau à la broche, which is a cake cooked on a spit in front of an open fire.

La Ferme du Bon’Air

For a break from cultural or religious sites, this farm offers a fun and intriguing alternative surrounded by lush greenery. Meet and pet locally reared animals including ponies, guinea pigs and more. There are plenty of picnic areas for a leisurely lunch and if you’re visiting the town with young children, this farm provides a welcome diversion from the slew of historic sites.

Activités

Lourdes est l'une des plus grandes destinations de pèlerinage marial au monde. Environ 5.000.000 pèlerins se rendent à Lourdes chaque année pour visiter les Sanctuaires Notre-Dame de Lourdes, qui contiennent la Grotte et les églises.

Outre le pèlerinage catholique romain, Lourdes est célèbre pour son architecture historique. Lourdes a été habitée pendant plus de 2000 ans et détient des artefacts, des monuments et des bâtiments historiques. Au sommet d'un embarcadère rocheux dans le centre de Lourdes, se trouve le Château Fort de Lourdes, un château fortifié vieux de 1000 ans.

Lourdes offre un accès direct à une nature pyrénéenne époustouflante, comme le Pont d'Espagne, au cœur du Parc national des Pyrénées, où vous pourrez observer une faune et une flore exceptionnelles, le Pic du Midi de Bigorre (alt. 2877m) avec ses terrasses panoramiques, ou le Pic du Jer pour une vue spectaculaire de Lourdes et une randonnée pittoresque. Il y a de nombreuses activités de plein air à pratiquer à Lourdes et dans ses environs. Vous pouvez également visiter les Halles de Lourdes, le marché couvert, ou tout simplement vous détendre et profiter de la bonne cuisine occitane.

 

Sanctuaire de Notre Dame de Lourdes

Lourdes est surtout connu pour être l'un des principaux sites de pèlerinage catholiques dans le monde depuis qu'il a été déclaré "ville sainte" par l'église catholique. L'histoire raconte qu'en 1858, la jeune bergère Bernadette Soubirous a témoigné de l'apparition de la Vierge Marie dans la grotte située à côté de Massabielle. Déclarée "ville mariale" par l'église catholique, Lourdes accueille désormais chaque année des millions de pèlerins venus du monde entier.

Château-fort de Lourdes

La forteresse millénaire de Lourdes, qui n'a jamais été conquise, est classée monument historique. Ce site offre des vues exceptionnelles sur la ville, les Sanctuaires et les Pyrénées. A l'intérieur, il accueille aujourd'hui un jardin botanique au pied du donjon du XIVe siècle, et le musée pyrénéen.

Funiculaire du Pic du Jer

La meilleure vue panoramique des Pyrénées, depuis Lourdes. Le Pic du Jer qui surplombe la ville est reconnaissable à sa grande croix, qui s'illumine la nuit. On y accède en empruntant un funiculaire centenaire, qui vous emmène vers le sommet à 900 mètres d'altitude en quelques minutes seulement, au cours d'un parcours très pittoresque.

Les Halles 

Les Halles constituent le cœur culinaire de Lourdes, où les gens font leurs courses de fruits et légumes frais ainsi que d'ingrédients spécialisés ou de douceurs du week-end. Attendez-vous à des fromages produits localement, de la charcuterie et bien d'autres choses encore. Ne manquez pas de goûter au gâteau à la broche, une pâtisserie locale traditionnelle, qui est un gâteau cuit à la broche devant un feu ouvert.

La Ferme du Bon’Air

Pour faire une pause dans les sites culturels ou religieux, cette ferme offre une alternative amusante et intrigante entourée d'une verdure luxuriante. Rencontrez et caressez des animaux élevés localement, notamment des poneys, des cochons d'Inde et autres. Il y a de nombreuses aires de pique-nique pour un déjeuner tranquille et si vous visitez la ville avec de jeunes enfants, cette ferme constitue une diversion bienvenue par rapport aux nombreux sites historiques.